Happy Nothin’

My last post was boring.  Just boring as all get out.  I usually re-read the previous post before I do a new one and I just couldn’t get to the end of that last one without my mind wandering. I tried like a hundred times.  The shame of it!

Anyway.

Do you have your decorations up? You do?

why?

Kill a tree, stick in the corner of your house, put junk all over it and then 3 weeks (or months) later, take it down. What’s the point of this? It really has nothing to do with Christianity, so even if you’re Christian, there’s no rhyme or reason to this.  A menorah has a specific symbolic value, so maybe, but a pine tree?

It’s pretty, I’ll give you that. Fun too. Yes.  I usually do it myself.  This year we’re running late because, ahem, someone has yet to chop down one of our pine trees and drag its carcass into the house and set it upright so that I might put crap all over it.  AHEM.

I hear that years ago, there used to be a Christmas tree erected in Plainfield village, but some crank complained that it didn’t represent all religions — ACTUALLY, IT DOESN’T technically REPRESENT ANY RELIGION — and so the tree was banished.  This is annoying, no? It’s just something fun.  COME ON.   I don’t know who this person was, or if they’re even still in Plainfield, but I have a few suggestions that I think might work for you so you let me know if we can get your permission:

1. Just a huge pile of Christmas lights — no tree.

2. A absolutely ENORMOUS pizza from Positive Pie, with Christmas lights on it.

3.  Just an enormous pizza.

And if you’re in the market for a menorah, check this one out:  moosemenorah

It’s a moose menorah.  You can buy it for me if you like.  Find it here.

4 thoughts on “Happy Nothin’

  1. I actually thought the last post was very interesting. I once saw what can happen when nothing is done about a swale (or some similar drainage problem). In my travels, I came upon a state park in southern Georgia called (I believe) Canyon State Park. It had a huge, gorgeous canyon–like a mini-Grand Canyon. It was absolutely beautiful; it had a hundred shades of that amazing red clay found in the south, mixed with shades of cream and white (don’t know what that was). I walked around the rim of this canyon for about an hour before I went into the visitor’s center. I assumed that it had taken tens of thousands of years (at least) and raging rivers for the canyon to form. In the visitor’s center I discovered it had formed in less than 100 years due to poor farming practices. So beware your swale.

  2. I liked the last post too! And it definitley made me think . . . When I look at mountains I see the collision and uplift of one plate over another and the wondrous results that process creates, hence the amazing striations visible all over the Rockies (the range I know best). But then I think of the pioneers cruising fairly easily across Kansas, Nebraska and Eastern Colorado on their wooden wheeled carriages and then . . . Holy S—! How are we going to get across THAT?? It will take HOW many months to go AROUND?? Or, all over the world, a mountain top is seen as something to REMOVE to get at whatever resource is inside. Anyway, examples abound but to your point it does seem that even something as apparently static as what a mountain is comes down to individual or group perception.

  3. O.K. So, when I do write a comment it is always extremely late. But here goes – actually commenting on the last 3 blogs! Regarding “Material Blindness”, I came up with a different conclusion to yours. Here goes my thought: We often don’t listen carefully to those we are trying to help (whether a person, group or {maybe especially!} country. We think we know what is best for them so we plow ahead and often (in my opinion) end up doing more damage than good. On the other hand, I do think it is useful to learn as many skills as possible – to make our lives easier, not harder. If I (we) can grow my own veggies, put in my (our) own dimmer switches, supplement our heat with a wood burning stove – Yea! It happens we like doing these things, so I might view it differently if we didn’t. We have Amish neighbors and they do everything themselves – or help each other. They live simply – enjoying friends and family; talk softly to their children. I don’t know I could live the way they do (I don’t like doing dishes, for example!) but admire them a great deal.

    Which does bring up the points of perspective, unintended consequences, etc. (And I, too, enjoyed the last blog and did not find it boring at all!) I find great solace in the natural world. I find great sadness in what we have done to our natural world. I am not proud of our (as in “our” nation) percentage of consumption of the world’s natural resources. I’m not sure if this IS the point, or beside the point, but I find it interesting that if someone finds oil on their land, the view it as a great bonanza. On the other hand, if a natural disaster hits their land, they look immediately to the government to help them out. I am, by the way, all for helping each other out. I just find it interesting that there aren’t many people saying,”Hey, I have this great find! Let me share it, please!”

    Lastly, I love Christmas! I like the tree, the lights (done well, not gawdy), Love the music. Why? I’m not sure. I don’t like shopping, for sure. But I do like giving people things I think they will enjoy. I think it goes back to my family – my mom and dad playing the piano. My whole family – cousins, aunt and uncle, my own kids as years went by, everyone! – singing Christmas carols. Being together. We are all spread out now – but when I hear the music, the distance doesn’t matter. The spirit is there.

    And – with that, Merry Christmas – and a wonderful New Year!

Leave a Reply

